Song-a-Day 8: “Daydream Receiver”

I’m really pleased with this one. Wrote it in the shower, got out and scribbled it down as quickly as I could.

Daydream Receiver

Daydream Receiver

She’s a trollop in need
of a dollop of speed
to snap her out of the shakes

I try to tell her that I love her
But it doesn’t really help her
I can’t tell if she’s even awake

A passing locomotive
Blows out all of her votives
The house is starting to quake

She’s fading from my vision
While I’m full of indecision
She’s sinking down into the lake

She cries herself out of the fever
I still don’t dare to leave her
She says I’ll never be a daydream receiver

She’s a tired young girl
In a tired old world
Who tries not to get a tan

It pleases her to know
It’s not so bad below
She heard from the publicity man

She’s going straight to the source
But it takes a lot of force
To get to where it all began

And I know I can’t help her
Find any shelter
But I know I’ve done all I can

She says she doesn’t need a griever
But I don’t really believe her
She says I’ll never be a daydream receiver
I’ll never be a daydream receiver

2 responses to “Song-a-Day 8: “Daydream Receiver”

  • Andrew

    Awesome! The rhyme scheme is brilliant, and the lyrics are pretty damn poignant. I particularly love this bit:

    A passing locomotive
    Blows out all of her votives
    The house is starting to quake

  • Amanda Borenstadt

    Oh wow, this one is heartbreaking. Sadly it reminds me of a girl very close to me. You brought tears to my eyes.

    I’m impressed you wrote it so quickly. It was truly inspired. Well done!

Leave a Reply

